Influence Conference: First Thoughts

Influence Conf Stripes Party

Thanks, Nicole, for the picture!

I can’t figure out how to write this post. There’s no pretty bow, no neat packaging, no clear boundaries.

I went to the Influence Conference last week, and it was perfect. Overwhelming for this girl who likes to hibernate in the house with coffee and computer, but perfect as well. Spiritually, a gut check. Blogging-wise, a kick in the butt.

So I’m reading my notes and letting my brain run wild and mostly hoping I can pray through all this blessed stuff. With the end of the conference, though, came all sorts of possible beginnings, middles, and endings. There are no pretty bows here.

Overall, I found a beautiful tension to accept and live in. I want to be all about Jesus in my life (because I’ve tried it half-way, and, yeah, that doesn’t work) but I also want to become more business-minded. Can I do both? Yes, I learned, but there’s no easy solution. I have to press forward, set goals, and act, and constantly I must be humbling myself before the Lord to make sure all that doing is worth doing.

Then there’s this beautiful, vulnerable, connected tribe of women (and a few men) that was solidified during the weekend. It’s for real. These people, their hearts for Jesus, their hearts for others–it’s all for real. If I personally gain nothing else but friendships and community from this experience, that’s enough.

There are more coherent Influence posts in the future, but here is a sampling of what I took away:

  1. You have gifts to share with the world. You have a place in the creative, business, and ministry communities. Don’t waste it.
  2. You can grow your blog or business with good planning and help.
  3. You need to be intentional–with your family, your writing, your work. What’s the purpose? Is your life reflecting that purpose?
  4. None of it–not a single slice of it–matters without Jesus at the center. Don’t lose focus.

P.S. – Those are my precious roommates in the photo. More on them later.

One thought on “Influence Conference: First Thoughts

  1. Rebecca >> This post rings true for me. Your brief points seem to nicely sum it up. It was so nice (and challenging) to be inspired by business and purpose that all points to Jesus. Now to get on with the doing!

    PS >> have enjoyed your series! Such a good topic.

Join the discussion!

