31 Days: Plans

I’ve always been full of plans. Mostly good, responsible plans that gained wide approval. Nothing too risky, nothing too questionable.

Then I discovered something: God doesn’t care how great my plans are. If they’re not His plans, they’re not the right plans.

For two years I battled Him on this over my career. God seemed to be telling me to step back and let Him work it out, but I just wasn’t seeing how it was going to come together. I had left my job as a therapist and was working in my family’s business, but I thought that surely there was an ambitious career path I needed to be on. I just had to find the right one, so I wasted time and money until finally I released it. Fine, I thought, I won’t be successful. That’s fine. 

And now my daughter gets to be tended by the hands of her mama, and I get to know her better than anyone else. I would have never made this choice on my own. Never. It wasn’t up for consideration in my mind, but God knew me better. Financially it’s challenging, but He provides there, too.

Know this: He has a plan for you. He has a specific, purposeful, important plan for your life to bring Him glory. Sometimes our best intentions get in the way, though. Sometimes we’re so focused on responsibility and success that we forget Who really is running the show (hint: it’s not me. or you.). He’s got it all figured out. I promise you, it’s safe to give up your plans for His. In fact, it’s the only way to contentment.

2 thoughts on “31 Days: Plans

  1. Pingback: 31 Days: Contentment That Won’t Flee | abiding to shine

  2. Hi Rebecca! Sooo needed this reminder today: He has a plan for you. He has a specific, purposeful, important plan for your life to bring Him glory. Thank you!!

Join the discussion!

