Truth in Love

Free image courtesy of FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I have the urge to jump in front of a runaway train that I possess no power to stop.

It’s not my train. And I most definitely am not meant to be the hero in this story.

But what role are we to play when someone dear to us is the conductor of a train roaring toward destruction?

Speak the truth in love (Eph. 4:15). Do not judge (Matt. 7:1). Do everything in love (I Cor. 16:14). The truth will set you free (John 8:32). Speak truth to one another (Zech. 8:16).

The boundaries of truth and judgement are blurry, as is the area between love and pride.

My words feel either truthful and judgmental or loving and false. I can’t find the right marriage of love and truth.

I’ve spoken some revealing words and mostly bitten my eager tongue. I’m afraid those words–while I attempted to make them gentle and true–sprung from pride. And I fear the words I held back were meant to be bravely spoken.

How do we discern the difference? How do we love a friend so thoroughly that they see grace in real life while not giving them approval? My Jesus loved and my Jesus was always true. What does that look like in our friendships? I don’t know.

What do you do when the line between truth and judgement is difficult to find?

One thought on “Truth in Love

  1. Hi Rebecca! The key is not putting your friend on the defensive nor coming off as being holier than thou. I’m assuming your friend is a Christian. As a Christian according to Matthew 18:15a: If your brother or sister sins,go and point out their fault, just between the two of you. That tells us that it is our responsiblity to point out our fellow brother or sister’s “fault”. You sound like your heart is in the right place, I don’t think you’re being judegemental or prideful at all. I think you’re more concerned your friend will view you like that. Pray about it, allow the Holy Spirit to speak through you & then let the chips fall where they may. It’s not how your friend views you that matters, but God & God knows where your heart is 🙂

Join the discussion!

