What I’m Reading Now

I’ve been on a reading binge this summer. I cannot stop. And I can’t stay in just one book at a time. Oh, no, that would be too simple.

Here is what I’m currently reading:

{1} The Circle Maker, Mark Batterson: Very interesting. I’m only three chapters in, and it’s already challenging my prayer life. Full discussion of this one to come once I finish.

{2} Anything, Jennie Allen: Jennie’s story is relatable for many of us: good girls building their American Dream lives while trying to love the Lord with all their hearts, and then finding that it just isn’t working. Jennie and her husband pray a bold prayer, and I can’t wait to see how He answers.

{3} The Screwtape Letters, C.S. Lewis: I’m in literary love with this guy. Lewis has a gift for clearly communicating spiritual complexities, and even though he was writing decades ago, it all seems so timely. He keeps me thinking, “I wish I had written this!”

{4} 7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess, Jen Hatmaker: Hilarious, convicting, and pragmatic. I’ve finished this one and want to be the author’s best friend now.

What are you reading, friends?

3 thoughts on “What I’m Reading Now

  1. This made me laugh as I too am reading multiple books at a time! I’m reading a hard book from the library, a book on my iPhone & a book on my kindle πŸ™‚ My FAVORITE books are memoirs & Christian help books. I just finished The Circle Maker & it really made me question how I present my prayers to God. To I settle with small things or have the faith to trust that He CAN answer the impossible things? It really made me draw off of the scripture where ALL things are possible with God! I’m also in the middle of reading Anything. Cherie Hill has written some GREAT books, if you pull up her name on Amazon, they’re all there. I’ll have to check out C.S. Lewis. Other then The Chronicles of Narnia, I haven’t read any of his other books & have heard GREAT things about them πŸ™‚

  2. I’ll have to look up Cherie Hill–love finding a new author to follow! I had never read C.S. Lewis until this summer, but I ordered a set of his books for a good price from Amazon. Mere Christianity might now be my favorite book ever. It blew me away that something written in such a different era could resonate so loudly. Definitely check him out! And I’m glad to hear that someone else is juggling multiple books at a time–I feel less crazy now!

Join the discussion!

