white dresser DIY

Linking up with mercy(INK) today!

Disclaimer: I am not crafty. At all. By any stretch of my own or others’ imaginations. This post is proof that anyone can successfully complete a DIY project.

This is the dresser that serves as my daughter’s changing table in her nursery. I looooove it. It’s pure, rich white with classic gold pulls. It was in terrible shape when I got it–an ugly color of particle board wood that had been decorated by kids with permanent black marker and stickers. It was trashed. I had never attempted to paint furniture, but I figured this free find was a good guinea pig project. The problem: I really, really, really did not want to sand the dresser. I also really, really, really did not want to wait on my husband to sand the dresser. So I set out on a search for what I thought was impossible: a reliable way to paint furniture without sanding.

I found this link that recommended using Zinsser Oil-Based Primer and decided it was worth a try. Sadly, I have no before-and-after photos (because I never dreamed of posting this), but I was amazed at how well it turned out. I rolled on two coats of the primer and two coats of white paint, and it looks shockingly good. Seriously–I’m no good at this stuff, but all it took was a day devoted to the project, and I had this near-perfect dresser for the cost of primer and paint.

Because my photography skills are non-existent, I couldn’t get a good close up of the painted surface, but it is smooth and flawlessly white.

I was always scared to tackle a project like this for fear I would mess it up, but I’m so glad I tried it. It’s my favorite piece of furniture in our home now, and it was the cheapest!

I’m posting this only to say: go try whatever project it is that intimidates you! It’s your home; fill it with things you love.

3 thoughts on “white dresser DIY

  1. Visiting from Mercy(ink) – I love the dresser. We just bought something similar for our nursery project (due in October!) Thanks for sharing the link for the primer you used.

Join the discussion!

