stitch fix

Who doesn’t love a pleasant surprise?

A couple of weeks ago, I found out about StitchFix through Blair’s blog and signed right up. For a $20 styling fee, you get a box of goodies (clothes and accessories) delivered to your doorstep, you try them on in the serenity (or not) of your own home, and then you decide what to keep and what to send back. The $20 credits toward anything you decide to keep.

After filling out the styling survey, I was a bit skeptical. Could they really send me a box of things I would actually like and that would fit? I noted on my survey that I was 2 months postpartum and would need clothes that allowed for a changing body. Good luck with that, I thought. Also, I’m unapologetically picky about my clothes. Again, good luck, StitchFix people.

Yesterday I came home to find my first delivery. First, I just need to tell you how exciting it is to get a box of fashion-y stuff that is all a surprise! I practically skipped inside.

This was my spread. {Excuse the iPhone photos–a photographer I am not.}

My first thought: I love this yellow sweater! It’s perfectly “me,” and I don’t mind spending a little on lightweight sweaters because I tend to wear them year-round. Keeper.

The pink polka-dot dress also felt very much my style and it fit, but I need more casual clothes at the moment, so I sent it back. The snakeskin tank was surprisingly cute once I tried it on, but I didn’t love it. Though you can’t see them in my pitiful pictures, they also sent a rope bracelet and some blue earrings. The earrings were pretty but cost more ($32, I think) than I like to spend on accessories. The rope bracelet was perfection–basic, natural, good to mix-and-match with my simple gold jewelry–so I kept it.

Overall, I was happily surprised by both the style and fit of my first fix. With the feedback I gave them on my returns, I think the next one will be even better.

If you’re interested, click here for an invite! If you sign up through my link, I get credit toward my next purchase. AND…if you sign up, you get a referrer link, too, so you can earn credit when your friends sign up. How neato is that?

P.S- Please ignore the mess that is my bedroom in that picture. Don’t hold it against me.

Join the discussion!

