God speaks about…the dishes?

I woke up at my parents’ house Saturday morning. It was gloriously late. My mom had already taken Caroline to my aunt’s house so I could get to work by eleven. My family is top-notch awesomeness. I’m the luckiest mama breathing.

But this isn’t about my great family; it’s about the dirty dishes.

I walked down the same dark wooden stairs that I used to creep up at 2 a.m. on summer nights. As I poured a hot cup of coffee, my eyes took in a familiar sight: dirty dishes scattered around the kitchen from the late dinner my mom had cooked for everyone. She’s a working woman with no desire to be June Cleaver, but she can and does throw together delicious dinners at the last minute for whoever shows up (and it’s usually more than just my dad).

So there I stood–coffee in hand and computer calling my name. A couple of hours to do whatever my heart desired. But before I could turn away from those dirty dishes, the Lord said, “Load the dishwasher.” Seriously–that’s what He said. And I thought, “Lord, really? The dishes are so important to you?”

“Yes, yes, they are.”

“But don’t you know I’m a new mama with a couple hours to myself?”

“And what about your mama? Dishes. Now.”

It was that clear.

And isn’t that the beautiful and frustrating thing about our Lord? We want Him to speak clearly about the Big Things–our purpose in life, His will for our future–but He’s concerned that we obey in the little things. After all, it’s the little things that puzzle together and form the whole of our days. And maybe the little things are the Big Things, and if I could remember that then I could start to live a life that speaks love to others.

2 thoughts on “God speaks about…the dishes?

  1. Ooooh – I LOVE this, Rebecca. And I love these words: “And maybe the little things are the Big Things, and if I could remember that then I could start to live a life that speaks love to others.”

Join the discussion!

